What States Require CEUs For Nurses?

CEUs For Nurses

What states require ceus for nurses? The requirements may vary from state to state. However, you should make sure to check the requirements in your state. Often, your employer will pay for the CEUs, so it is a good idea to double-check. Also, consider whether your employer will pay for your CEU training. Large hospitals and unions like to keep their nurses up-to-date on the latest technology and therapies.

CEUs for Nurses are required by law in most states. These units help you stay current on new trends in the field and are like your post-graduation report card. CEU courses will help you stay up-to-date on the latest advances in the nursing field, and many of them will even count toward your BSN degree requirements. To keep your license current, most states require you to take at least 20 hours of continuing education each year. Some states require you to take certain courses in order to obtain these units, so make sure to check with your state’s board to find out if they’ll be valid for your state.


CEUs are also important for relicensing. Usually, you can pass the first renewal after graduation without completing any CEUs, but then you’ll have to complete at least 30 hours every two or four years. Make sure you check this requirement closely, as each state may have slightly different requirements. In addition to this, you will need to maintain proof of your CEUs for a specified period.

What States Require CEUs For Nurses?

Getting CEUs is an excellent way to distinguish yourself from your competitors. Employers will look favorably on those who put in the extra effort. CEU opportunities are also a great way to keep up with new techniques and explore areas you never thought of before. Check out AAACEUs, which is the organization that oversees continuing education for nurses. Whether it is online or face-to-face, continuing education is the key to maintaining your license.

In order to stay licensed, RNs must take at least 30 hours of approved CE every two years. This may not be required if you were licensed less than 5 years ago. Most states require RNs to report their CEU status every year. Some states require nurses to take an approved CE course every year. Regardless, it’s worth it for you to stay current. The benefits of taking a continuing education course are many.

In Florida, you must take two hours of continuing education in nursing law, two hours in medical error and three hours in infection control. You may be required to take an additional course if your license expires before then. However, in New York, you must complete three hours of infection control every four years. Finally, Louisiana requires nurses to earn two hours of CE in HIV/AIDS and recognize impairment in the workplace. It’s important to take all these CE courses to stay compliant and stay in good standing.

The American Nurses Credentialing Center, or ANCC, sets standards for nursing board certification. Continuing education courses approved by the ANCC will not only increase your earning potential, but they will keep you up-to-date on the latest innovations in the field. And as a bonus, you’ll be better equipped to provide your patients with the best care possible. Taking ANCC-approved courses can be a challenge for busy nurses, but they have ample time to complete their requirements.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top